Guidelines for cooperation between the parties currently forming the Centre Group were approved during the 31st Session of the Nordic Council in Oslo in February 1983. November the same year the Centre Group was constituted as a separate political group, and Karin Söder from Sweden was elected as its first Chair.

Centre Group Chairs

Centre Group Secretaries General